Thank you for visiting our Valuation Coverage/Options page. This is an important step to becoming educated about the moving process. At Hansen’s Moving and Storage, our team works hard every day to make sure each move is performed in a professional and safe way. Unfortunately, in our business, accidents do happen. That is why we have made it a point to address this issue in a clear and transparent way, allowing you the customer to make an educated determination on your valuation coverage and the claims process.
When hiring a moving company you want to make sure you do your homework. In the state of California, you want to make sure you are always using a Public Utilities Commission licensed company. The PUC regulates rates, licensing and valuation coverage required by movers in California. Just because a company tells you they have “Valuation” does not mean they are licensed by the PUC. A company may have Valuation on their vehicle, but they may have proper liability coverage or honor the PUC regulated coverage. In California, the PUC requires that a moving company carries .60 cents per pound. This is not the same a full replacement or full value valuation. Many moving companies will only offer this valuation because it is the minimum required, and it places the majority of the burden on the customer.
Movers will require that the customer sign a waiver and release form that limits the liability to the minimum required .60 cents per pound. An example for why this is standard would be an average move that costs around $500. If there was a damage to a desktop computer or a flat screen television that cost $2,000 the moving company would risk too much liability. If there were multiple high-value items that were damaged, the liability would more than outpace profits. This standard in the industry can leave the customer carrying the bulk of the liability. That is why Hansen’s Moving and Storage provides a couple of different options when it comes to Valuation. This allows the customer to make an educated decision based on the value of their possessions.
At no additional charge, we offer the PUC mandated .60 cent per pound waiver and release for damages or missing items. Though this is no extra charge, it can shift the liability on to the customer depending on the value of their goods since this is not full value valuation. The below chart is an example of what some damaged items would be valued under this option:
Standard Valuation Settlement Amounts
|King Mattress||150 lbs||$90|
|Flat Screen TV||50 lbs||$30|
|Set of China||8 lbs||$4.80|
|Lamp Shade||1 lbs||$.60|
|Kitchen Table||100 lbs||$60|
|Broken Mirror||25 lbs||$15|
In the event that something is damaged and the item can be fixed at a cost less than the settlement amount, we will give the customer the option of repair or the settlement value. If you have any questions about this coverage, please do not hesitate to contact our office prior to your move date.
Full Value Coverage Option
This option allows the customer to provide a value to their entire shipment, and purchase additional coverage according to that value. Our partners at MovingInsurance.com can help you purchase this additional coverage and answer any questions you might have regarding this option. Call MovingInsurance.com at 1-888-893-8835 and let them know you are using Hansen’s Moving and Storage or give them entity 12995.
Be sure to purchase this valuation well before your scheduled move date. This Valuation requires some documentation, as well as an inventory process prior to the move.
Single Item Coverage Option
This option allows the customer to insure a single item at a specific value. For example, if you have an antique hutch that has a high value, you can insure that item without insuring the entire shipment. Our partners at MovingInsurance.com can help you purchase single item coverage and answer any questions you may have regarding this option. Call MovingInsurance.com at 1-888-893-8835 and let them know you are using Hansen’s Moving and Storage or give them entity 12995.
Be sure to purchase this valuation well before your scheduled move date. This valuation requires some documentation, as well as an inventory process prior to the move.
Homeowners/Renters Valuation Option
We recommend checking with your homeowners or renters valuation to see if they offer any policy above the $.60 per pound provided by the moving company. They may provide this at no cost or charge a small fee. They may also require documentation that you are using a licensed and properly insured moving company.
Thank you for visiting this portion of our website. It is important to us that our customers become educated about their move process. We want our customers to know that we try to be as upfront and honest as we can about some of the unfortunate but inevitable parts of the moving industry.
If you have any further questions, comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact the office at 661-632-6598 or email us at LetsMove@HansensMove.com.